Kitchen Confessions 

So often I am asked, “how do you have the time for all of the baking you do?”. Well, the answer is, I don’t. Between making orders for the kitchen and raising my kids, I don’t always have the time to bake from scratch every time my kids want something. So how do I balance making them goodies without taking all day to do it?Boxed cake mix. 

There. I said it. 

When my kids want cupcakes for dessert or muffins for breakfast and I’m short on time, I use boxed mixes. Most of the time I’ll put my own spin on it, whether it’s an easy buttercream, added flavours, or simply changing the colour, but let’s face it – they’re my kids. Not my clients. Using the box cakes not only save me time, but money as well, because when I’m using them I’m not taking from the ingredients I need for kitchen orders. 
This morning miss Poet informed that she would like cupcakes for when her friends come over today. I used a Duncan Hines cherry chip cake mix, and added in some pink food colouring. 

I don’t keep frosting containers on hand, so I made a fast pistachio buttercream using pistachio pudding mix, icing sugar, butter, vegetable shortening, and milk. The whole endeavour took me a half hour, the kids were thrilled, and my kitchen was clean and ready to go. 

There is a time and a place to pull out the big guns, but a Monday afternoon is not one of them. Let Betty Crocker do the work, and don’t feel guilty that you’re not doing everything from scratch. I bake for a living and I don’t have time for that! 
Mention this post and receive 10% off of your next order! 

Leave a comment